Chris Woakes was England’s unlikely king of seam and swing on day one of the fourth Ashes Test at Old Trafford, as the hosts finished on the front foot.

England are fighting to level the series at 2-2, having been 2-0 down, and were grateful to Woakes – so long the understudy to Stuart Broad and James Anderson – for his haul of four for 52 that helped limit Australia to 299-8 at stumps.

Broad, however, still made his mark by taking his 599th and 600th Test wickets, to join an elite club, while wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow found some redemption after a tough series with three catches.

With an improved weather forecast for the weekend, hopes remain high that England can take the series down to the last Test.

Ashes fixtures and full schedule

  • First Test, Edgbaston, Birmingham – June 16-20 (Australia won by two wickets)
  • Second Test, Lord’s, London – June 28-July 2 (Australia won by 43 runs)
  • Third Test, Headingley, Leeds – July 6-10 (England won by three wickets)
  • Fourth Test, Old Trafford, Manchester – July 19-23
  • Fifth Test, The Oval, London – July 27-31

Trent Bridge has missed out on hosting a men’s Test, although it was the venue for the one-off Test in the women’s Ashes.  

What time does each Test match start?

All five Tests are designated ‘day’ matches, commencing at 11am (BST), and each day’s play is scheduled to last until 6pm, although time can be made up to 6.30pm, if no breaks in play, to facilitate 90 overs. Lunch will be at 1pm and last for 40 minutes and tea at 3.40pm for 20 minutes.

What is England’s record in the Ashes at each ground? 

  • Edgbaston P16 W6 L5 D5
  • Lord’s P40 W7 L18 D15
  • Headingley P26 W9 L9 D8
  • Old Trafford P30 W7 L8 D15
  • The Oval P38 W17 L7 D14

What TV channel is the Ashes on? How can I follow it in the UK?

Live coverage

Sky has the rights for domestic Tests and is broadcasting all five matches exclusively live on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event.

More people tuned into the Edgbaston Test than any other in Sky’s history, with the peak audience of 2.12 million narrowly beating the figures for the 2019 Ashes Test at Headingley, when Ben Stokes marshalled an extraordinary England heist.

TV highlights

The BBC has a highlights package and shows Today at the Test on BBC2 at 7pm after each day’s play.

Radio coverage

The BBC has the radio rights for domestic Tests and features ball-by-ball coverage (unless you are listening on longwave during the shipping forecast) on Radio 5 Live Sports Extra and via the BBC Sounds app. 

TMS coverage is led as usual by Jonathan Agnew, alongside what it calls “an iconic commentary team” comprising Isa Guha, Simon Mann, Alison Mitchell, Daniel Norcross and Jim Maxwell, with summarisers Michael Vaughan, Sir Alastair Cook, Phil Tufnell, Glenn McGrath, Jason Gillespie, Ebony Rainford Brent, Vic Marks and Alex Hartley. Andy Zaltzman returns as scorer. 

Who is in the Ashes squads?

England vice-captain Ollie Pope has been ruled out of the remainder of the summer with a serious shoulder injury sustained during the second Ashes Test at Lord’s. It is the third serious shoulder injury of his career, although the previous two have been to his left shoulder. The latest injury will require surgery.

Meanwhile, spinner Nathan Lyon has been ruled out of the rest of the Ashes with a calf tear.

England have recalled James Anderson for the fourth Test with Ollie Robinson making way after suffering a back spasm at Headingley. 

For the fourth Test, Pat Cummins has confirmed Josh Hazlewood and Cameron Green will play at Old Trafford with Scott Boland and Todd Murphy making way.

England squad for fourth Ashes Test
Ben Stokes (captain), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Australia squad for fourth Ashes Test
Pat Cummins (captain) David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood

Source link